Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Rule of the Day - Refusing a Challenge

Rule of the Day - 06/01/2011


Bravely bold Sir Robin
Rode forth from Camelot.
He was not afraid to die,
Oh brave Sir Robin.
He was not at all afraid
To be killed in nasty ways.
Brave, brave, brave, brave Sir Robin.


Refusing a Challenge (BOO! HISS!) - pg 102

If no enemy character steps forward to meet the challenge, one of them must retire in ignominy.  This character is nominated by the challenger - though he may not nominate a character that could not have accepted the challenge, or a unit champion - champions can accept challenges, they do not have to.  The retiring character slinks off to the back ranks and is not allowed to attack that round - move the model into a rank where he's not in base contact with the enemy.  Another model will step up and fight in his place, just as if he'd been slain.  Furthermore, the model's Leadership cannot be used for any Leadership tests that take place that turn.

Once a challenge has been refused, the issuer can fight normally in that round of combat.

Nowhere to Run, Nowhere to Hide
A character cannot refuse a challenge if his model cannot be placed so that he is not in base contact with an enemy model - he can't evade his opponent and so must fight for his life.  This most commonly happens if a lone character is the subject of challenge, or if his unit is small and engaged on all fronts, so that every model in the unit is in base contact with an enemy.


Note - There is a huge change from 7th edition buried up above.  Champions can never be forced into the back ranks for declining a challenge.  Nice to keep that typical extra champion attack in the combat.



Cheers!
Domus

0 comments:

Post a Comment